Gold plated wedding in the glass palace

Weddings in Afghanistan are usually celebrated on a grand scale and with many guests, business partners and family. Meanwhile, a whole wedding hall industry has established itself throughout the country. In Kabul there are now whole streets paved with these buildings. The glass boxes often spread the charm of a Las Vegas plastic world, with artificial palm trees, fountains and many flashing fairy lights.

Even a power plant does not scare the builders away from their intention to place it right next to it. Land prices in the metropolis are now exorbitantly high.

The celebrations usually take place in separate rooms, men and women each have their own celebrations. Unfortunately, this is still an old tradition. In earlier years this tradition was broken, from the sixties to the eighties people celebrated together, at least in the more liberal cities.

For the families, a celebration is quite expensive, twenty dollars and more you have to pay per guest for the meal and the room. The societies then sometimes are made up of 150 - 250 people, for not well-to-do Afghans not even in the beginning feasible. Nevertheless, the wedding industry is booming, especially in Kabul there is now a super-rich upper class.

The upper part of the Hotel Khorasan also served as a wedding platform. However, the operator could not stand up to the big competition and meanwhile the whole complex lies wasted.

Also in other Afghan cities like Herat, Mazar-iSharif or Kunduz there is this business, also here with apparently splendid buildings.

Infinity Water In the sun thunderstorm

3 Comments

  1. Informative Bilderfolge, die neugierig macht.

    Findet dort auch die standesamtliche und/oder religiöse Trauung statt oder wird hier nur gefeiert?

Comment

Vergoldete Hochzeit im Glaspalast

Hochzeiten werden in Afghanistan meist im großen Stil und mit vielen Gästen, Geschäftspartnern und der Familie gefeiert. Mittlerweile hat sich eine ganze Hochzeitsfeierhallen-Industrie im ganzen Land etabliert. In Kabul gibt es mittlerweile ganze Straßenzüge die mit diesen Bauten zugepflastert sind. Die Glaskästen versprühen oft den Charme einer Las Vegas Plastik Welt, mit künstlichen Palmen, Springbrunnen und vielen blinkenden Lichterketten.

Selbst ein Kraftwerk schreckt die Erbauer nicht ab ihr Vorhaben genau daneben zu platzieren. Grundstückspreise sind in der Metropole inzwischen exorbitant hoch.

Die Feiern finden in Regel in getrennten Räumen statt, Männer und Frauen haben jeweils ihre eigenen Feiern. Leider nach wie vor eine alte Tradition. In früheren Jahren wurde diese Tradition durchbrochen, von den Sechziger bis in die Achtziger Jahre feierte man noch gemeinsam, zumindest in den liberaleren Städten.

Für die Familien ist eine Feier recht kostspielig, zwanzig Dollar und mehr muss man pro Gast für das Mahl und den Raum berappen. Die Gesellschaften bestehen dann schon mal aus 150 – 250 Menschen, für nicht betuchte Afghanen nicht mal im Ansatz machbar. Dennoch boomt die Hochzeitsindustrie, gerade in Kabul gibt es mittlerweile eine superreiche Oberschicht.

Der obere Teil des Hotels Khorasan diente ebenfalls als Vermählungs Plattform. Der Betreiber konnte aber nicht gegen die große Konkurrenz standhalten und mittlerweile liegt der ganze Komplex brach.

Auch in anderen afghanischen Städten wie Herat, Mazar-iSharif oder Kunduz gibt es dieses Business, auch hier mit scheinbar prachtvollen Bauten.

Infinity Water Im Sonnen Gewitter

3 Kommentare

Kommentieren